The sticker must be affixed to the vessel for which it was issued within 6 inches of the registration number. Only the current sticker can be visible. “Zero tolerance” prohibits people under the age of 21 from consuming alcohol and navigating a ship with measurable alcohol content. Under federal law, all boaters or passengers under the age of 13 must wear their PFDs while en route, unless they are below deck or in an enclosed cabin. In Virginia, this rule is enforced by the U.S. Coast Guard and applies to waters for which it has enforcement jurisdiction. By operating on Virginia waterways, an operator is deemed to have accepted a breath and/or blood test to determine the amount of alcohol and/or drugs in their blood. Upon receipt of the application and the required fee, the DGIF issues a title that serves as proof of ownership and a Virginia number certificate. This pocket number certificate is your registration card. After receiving the number certificate, please note the following: The boater`s education card must be carried on board at all times during the operation. In addition, all motorized vessels that must be registered must obtain a certificate of ownership before they can legally operate on Virginia waterways.
This also applies to all sailing vessels over 18 feet, even if they do not have a motor. If a vessel has already been registered in Virginia, the new owner may operate the vessel for thirty days from the date of purchase with a dated contract of sale and the valid number certificate from the previous owner. A boater with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more is considered to be under the influence of alcohol. The penalties are as follows: The number assigned to a vessel appears on the certificate and must be affixed to each side of the front half of the vessel. Persons 13 years of age or younger are not permitted to operate personal watercraft. Personal watercraft operators aged 14 and 15 must have proof of successful completion of a NASBLA-approved boating safety course. Don`t underestimate personal watercraft – they are very powerful due to their small size and require the same respect as any boat. In fact, PWC operations must comply with the same rules and regulations as any other powerboat – including state registration and a B-1 class fire extinguisher on board. Every person on board a personal watercraft must be equipped with a PFD I, II, III or V approved by the U.S. Coast Guard.
Boats documented by the U.S. Coast Guard cannot be titled, but the owner of a documented boat can apply to DGIF for a government registration sticker. Stickers are labeled with each number certificate and indicate the month and year of expiry as well as the registration number assigned to your vessel. The title, license plate and license plates for your boat trailer are purchased from the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). In addition to requiring a portable PFD for each person on board a vessel, the State of Virginia requires at least one Type IV disposable PFD (ring buoy OR seat cushion) approved by the U.S. Coast Guard on all vessels 16 feet or older, except: Inflatable PFDs are not approved for high-performance water sports such as water skiing or personal watercraft. Refusal to submit to an examination may constitute grounds for withdrawal of the operator`s vessel licence. Personal watercraft can only be used during the day (from sunrise to sunset). All boats propelled by machinery, including gasoline, diesel and electric engines, whether or not the engine is the primary source of propulsion, and that operate primarily in Virginia waters, must be registered by DGIF and issue a Virginia number certificate.